College of The Albemarle holds 51st Associate Degree Nursing Pinning – OBX Today

College of The Albemarle holds 51st Associate Degree Nursing Pinning - OBX Today

Graduates of the 2024 Associate Degree Nursing (A.D.N.) program received their pins at College of The Albemarle’s (COA) annual pinning ceremony on Tuesday, May 7, 2024, in the Performing Arts Center at COA – Elizabeth City. This year, we celebrated 29 graduates who completed over 800 clinical training hours and 1,056 classroom and lab hours.

This year’s pinning ceremony included the presentation of pins, the lighting of the Nightingale Lamps and the reciting of the International Council of Nurses’ Pledge.

During the ceremony on May 7th, several A.D.N. students received esteemed recognition, awards, and scholarships, acknowledging their academic excellence and perseverance.

Ashley Jones received the Academic Excellence and Academic Recognition Award, and Lauren Bolton received the Academic Recognition Award. The Academic Excellence Award is presented to the student with the highest grade point average (GPA) during the A.D.N. program, and the Academic Recognition Award is given to students who maintain a 3.5 GPA during their studies at COA.

Kathryn Beach received the Dr. L. Everett Sawyer Award. This award is presented to students who display outstanding abilities in all facets of nursing. It was established in 1984 in memory of Dr. Sawyer, a loyal and generous friend of COA’s A.D.N. Program. Recipients are selected by the A.D.N. faculty each year.

The Dr. Zack D. Owens and Martha Anderson Owens Nursing Endowment Scholarship was given to Lauren Bolton, Kimberly Brown, Laura Flowers, Ashley Jones, Rachel Leary, Stephanie Manning, Katelyn Sharber, Jenna Sullivan and Kenyada Wiggins.  Scholarships are presented to selected full-time nursing students who maintain a 2.5 GPA.  Dr. Zack D. Owens, a surgeon in Elizabeth City, and his wife, Martha Anderson Owens, a registered nurse, formed a highly skilled medical team at Albemarle Hospital. In 1983, Dr. Owens established the endowment to provide scholarship opportunities for nursing students.

“We are proud of the A.D.N. graduates who have worked very hard in a rigorous four-semester program,” shared Kathryn Miller, COA Associate Degree Nursing Department Chair and Associate Professor. “Many have secured employment in our region, and we look forward to seeing them in our community clinical facilities, where they will deliver excellent patient care.”

Congratulations to the COA Associate Degree Nursing Class of 2024:

Kathryn Beach, Chesapeake, VA; Lauren Bolton, Dare County; Kimberly Brown, Currituck County; Zachary Burris, Pasquotank County; Tiffany Demase, Perquimans County; Kaitlin Fiedler, Pasquotank County; Laura Flowers, Currituck County; Courtney Fowler, Dare County; Donisha Frost, Chowan County; Alexandra Hillman, Perquimans County; Alyssa Hixson, Currituck County; Jessica Hoffman, Pasquotank County; Jordan Hofler, Gates County; Anna Holland, Currituck County; Ashley Jones, Pasquotank County; Rachel Leary, Perquimans County; Stephanie Manning, Perquimans County; Stephanie Montgomery, Perquimans County; Matthew O’Neal, Chowan County; Ellison Owens, Chowan County; Laura Scott, Camden County; Katelyn Sharber, Perquimans County; Sydni Shope, Perquimans County; Jenna Sullivan, Dare County; Lacie Thornley, Perquimans County; Joshua Trueblood, Pasquotank County; Kenyada Wiggins, Pasquotank County; Crisanta Williams, Dare County; and Leah Wood, Currituck County.


Caption: A.D.N. Class of 2024 – Top (1st row, l-r): Kathryn Beach, Lauren Bolton, Kimberly Brown, Zachary Burris, Tiffany Demase, Kaitlin Fiedler, Laura Flowers, Courtney Fowler (2nd row, l-r): Donisha Frost, Alexandra Hillman, Alyssa Hixson, Jessica Hoffman, Jordan Hofler, Anna Holland, Ashley Jones, Rachel Leary (3rd row, l-r): Stephanie Manning, Stephanie Montgomery, Matthew O’Neal, Ellison Owens, Laura Scott, Katelyn Sharber, Sydni Shope, Jenna Sullivan Bottom (4th row, l-r): Lacie Thornley, Joshua Trueblood, Kenyada Wiggins, Crisanta Williams, Leah Wood